Look, I’m posting! I even have FOs!

I’ve been trying to knit more lately…Mostly just trying to do more in general.  Despite what seems like a busy schedule, I definitely have a lot of free time and I’m trying to get better at taking advantage of it.  I’ve even joined a couple knit-a-longs, kind of.  One is the square-along (the link isn’t working at the moment, I’ll come back and add it later) at test-along.  The purpose of the squares is to make up a blanket for an upcoming book, but all the squares (including those not included in the book) will be made into blankets for Warm Up America, I believe).  Unfortunately, I didn’t know until I got the pattern that I don’t have sock yarn in the colors they’re looking for…I haven’t decided yet what I’m going to do about that, since I definitely don’t have money to spend on more yarn.  Maybe they’ll still want the square for the donation.  Also, if you check out Minestrone Soup, you’ll see she’s organized a whole bunch of knitters to knit fun fur hats for kids at Children’s Hospital Boston who are undergoing chemo and/or radiation treatments.  It feels good to be a part of this, because the hospital is somewhat local and the kids requested these hats…The hats are easy and quick and I’m pretty sure these kids will be pumped to get them.  So, I’ve finished a couple of those already:

The two finished hats are Moda Dea Fur Ever, and the next hat will be made from the ball in the middle, Moda Dea Kickx.  I can’t afford anymore yarn at the moment, but if anyone hats working with furry yarns and wants to get rid of what they’ve got, I’ll take it so I can make more hats! 😉

I also whipped up some mitts from Weekend Knitting…I’ve been wanting to try the pattern for a while now and had some Lamb’s Pride Worsted leftovers that turned out to be pretty much perfect.

They were a little too snug before blocking but now they’re great.  I definitely need to make some fingerless gloves too, because my hands and fingers are always cold and these mitts don’t quite cut it for my icy fingers.

I’ve been working on my socks too!  I decided I needed to at least try to clear some stuff out of the cache, plus I need some cozy warm socks.  After these, I’m gonna start some wool ones…It’s fucking COLD in New England right now!

Now it’s time for the real boring part, knitting that leg in 2×2 rib until I’m almost out of yarn.  I haven’t decided how to finish these socks yet.  The first one I switched to a 1×1 for an inch at the top but that was too tight.  I feel like if I just stick to 2×2 rib the whole way, it won’t look as finished as the 1×1 rib.  What do I do?

I still need to take pictures of the roving I got for Christmas from my roommate…It was honestly completely unexpected and one of the most thoughtful gifts I’ve received.  She went out of her way to find something nice and something she knew I’d like, even though she doesn’t know anything about spinning.  It’s a beautiful merino/tussah blend from Ashland Bay in a color called Sea Mist, which my roommate chose because she knew I loved Star Island, and the ocean in general.  What a sweetheart!  Sadly, you’ll have to wait for pictures of that!  Maybe one of these days I’ll get back to spinning, but right now I feel like I’ve got a lot on my plate so I guess we’ll wait and see.  Oh, I’ll take pictures of my finished tam at some point soon too.

~ by Whitney on January 26, 2007.

18 Responses to “Look, I’m posting! I even have FOs!”

  1. Woot! Furry hats! I’ve ended up with a little too much furry stuff I think. If you can get it knit up in time for Kate’s challenge I’d love to send you a few balls. 🙂

  2. Nice work! I am thinking of posting about the Boston Children’s Hospital effort over at http://redscarfproject.wordpress.com, which was a KAL for, well, the red scarf project, but I think we are going to move on to other charity projects. So come over and join in if you want!

  3. Hi.
    Good design, who make it?

  4. Prodaiy ICQ za 12$ za vse.Ïðîäàþ ICQ 12$ çà âñå.
    274-693
    324-994
    564-567
    605-800
    695-769
    985-425
    132-335
    478-575
    Sviaz so mnoi ICQ 458411483. Ñâÿçü ñî ìíîé ICQ 458411483

  5. [b]Всем привет!!![/b]

    Если у вас тоже встап вопрос о качественной типографии, а самое главное надежной, обращайтесь в типографию, что у ст. м. Университет!

    [b]тел.: (495) 939-44-89[/b] [b]Звоните!!![/b]

    Проверенно!!!

  6. The European credit cards: MasterCard, Visa (Gold/Platinum/Corparate/Bissnes/Signature), all cards workers, a guarantee, balance of cards from 2000 $, behind the detailed information and the prices write:admin.cc@mail.ru, or ICQ 423669709.

    The credit card, credit cards, plastic cards, mastercard, visa, carding, cvc, damp, dump, bank cards, plastic cards, credit cards, a debit card, a bank card, a card visa, a card the visa, maestro, visa classic, visa electron, cc, cards, magnetic cards, number of credit cards, visa a credit card, the generator of credit cards, the Internet credit cards, plastic cards visa, cvv, cvv2, carder to receive a credit card, credit the Internet a card, the visa a credit card, a code of a credit card, to buy a credit card, sale of credit cards, bank credit cards, credit cards reception, a debit card, the master of cards, the master of cards, maestro card, a card maestro, magnetic cards, payment cards, dumps

  7. Hi there,
    I’m new! What’s going on?

  8. Hi,
    I’m new! What’s going on?

    ——————
    Business Consulting

  9. Приветствую всех!
    У меня такой вопрос,кто что интересное подскажет буду признателен.
    Мы с друзьями собираемся поехать в круиз по просторам России и ближнего зарубежья месяца на два на своих машинах,но не как не можем согласовать маршрут,если у кого уже был опыт такого путешествия,может,что посоветуете.Девчонок с собой не берем,думаем,что во все городах России с этим не будет проблем,если у кого будут рекомендации и в вопросе отдыха с девушками тоже буду признателен.

    С уважением Сеньчик

  10. Приветствую всех!
    У меня такой вопрос,кто что интересное подскажет буду признателен.
    Мы с друзьями собираемся поехать в круиз по просторам России и ближнего зарубежья месяца на два на своих машинах,но не как не можем согласовать маршрут,если у кого уже был опыт такого путешествия,может,что посоветуете.Девчонок с собой не берем,думаем,что во все городах России с этим не будет проблем,если у кого будут рекомендации и в вопросе отдыха с девушками тоже буду признателен.

    С уважением Сеньчик

  11. caper custom, condense.

  12. Всем Добрый вечер! Простите за оффтоп но на сайте клуба лучшего софта нашел море уникальных и полезных программ для вашего компьютера заходите не пожалеете!

  13. Мама фильм скачать бесплатно

  14. See all Hi!Come on Here cheapest place to buy kamagra online you buy kamagra next day delivery.

  15. Работа, вакансии, резюме – работа в твоем городе. Тысячи свежих резюме, сотни актуальных вакансий ждут тебя. owork.jlt.ru – поиск работы в твоем городе!

  16. Thanks for the marvelous post.

  17. Интернет магазин кофемашин cofemanoff кофе lavazza

  18. Привет всем!
    Прошу совета какой бы камень взять для строительства альпийской горки
    Бутовый камень и гравий пойдут для этого дела ?
    какой материал еще может понадобится? горку делать буду сам.

Leave a Reply

 
