Ten Songs and other non-knitting stuff

So, there’s not much knitting progress to show, the Kid Seta scarf is getting there but it doesn’t make for interesting pictures.  Once it’s bound off, I still need to go home (to my parents’ house that is) to get some necessary supplies to completely finish it.  We’re talking next weekend at the very least.  If I get home then, I’m also going to pick up my scanner so I can show of some of the black and white photos (real silver prints!) I’ve been making for class.  I’m desperate to get into the darkroom again soon, I have four rolls to print from, but this weekend is mid-term break so the art building is closed 😦  This is particularly disappointing because mid-term break means a lot of people go home, so I could have had the darkroom to myself.  Oh well, I guess I’ll just have to take some pictures instead.

Since there’s no knitting to show, I thought I’d do the ten favorite songs meme that’s been making the rounds…This is gonna be tough!

1.  I Don’t Trust Myself (With Loving You) by John Mayer

This album is just so good, it’s hard to choose one favorite…For those thathave heard earlier John Mayer stuff, his new album Continuum is a real change.  The songs are much more in a soul vein than pop, but they’re damn catchy.  His lyrics are great and his guitar skills are amazing.  His blues stuff is really good too.

2.  Both Hands – Ani Difranco

Now, I’m a huge Ani fan.  It’s really impossible to claim one favorite by her, but this one ranks really high.  It’s simple, but beautiful, honest and bittersweet.  Every time I’ve heard it live, I can’t stop myself from singing along at the top of my lungs.  She played it as an encore at the first show of her’s I ever went too and it is still one of my favorite memories.

3.  Samson – Regina Spektor

This woman’s voice is beautiful, and I really like her writing style.  All of her album Begin to Hope really bring me back to this past summer, very nostalgic.

4.  Hide And Seek – Imogen Heap

Another beautiful voice!  And this song is my favorite on the album because it’s less techno-y…Just several voice tracks mixed together, no instruments.  Another one I always sing along to.

5.  Let’s Stay Together – Al Green

This is kind of my and Ben’s song, plus I can’t help but dance when I hear it.

6.  Cannonball – Damien Rice

Another me and Ben kind of song…One of my favorites to play on guitar (and one of the few I can still play from memory)

7.   Burn One Down – Ben Harper

I have a hard time choosing one favorite Ben Harper song, I really like all of his music.  This one just always puts me in a good mood.

8.  Crush – Dave Matthews Band

I like a lot of Dave Matthews, solo and with the band, but the album this song is from is definitely one of their best, and this song is just sexy.

9.  You Were Right About Everything – Erin Mckeown

I’m terrible at this favorites thing…All of Erin Mckeown’s songs are good, this one just resonates with me for some reason

10.  Banana Pancakes – Jack Johnson

Another happy nostalgic song…Just makes me feel good.

I have to limit myself to ten because otherwise I’ll keep going until basically every song on my iTunes is listed.  I’m sure if I filled this out again tomorrow, it would be totally different…

On a completely unrelated note, I really want to get good at cooking.  I feel really limited by my lack of funds at the moment, but I’d really like to be able to cook well for myself and for others, and stop eating instant oatmeal and sandwiches and bagels all the time.  I’m vaguely comfortable with baking (I used to help out mom all the time, and she is QUITE the baker, especially when it comes to cheesecake) but cooking is just unfamiliar territory.  I’ve been feeling really domestic in that regard…I’d love to be able to make my own bread (and get better at baking in general as well as cooking) and make nice meals and choose good wines to go with them and really just feel like I have a normal life and not this weird, just getting by type of existence.  It’s getting old.

~ by Whitney on October 5, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
