Drama, drama, drama…

So, we're talking about blogging and free speech again.  I'm sure other people are writing about this too, but this is my little corner of the web and I feel like saying something.  Apparently, there's been a big fuss at Eunny's blog because she wrote about her style preferences (you can go over there to read the whole thing, but please don't post any more bitchy comments)…Basically, some people harangued her for what she had to say and honestly I just don't get it.  No one is forcing you to read a specific blog, so I don't understand why people try to cause trouble.  Everyone's got a right to an opinion, but if it's just hurtful and not at all constructive, it's just a waste of everyone's time…Feelings get hurt, drama abounds, and for what?  One person's individual opinion?  Which really has no bearing on how your live your life?  Generally the people we leave comments for are people who are not part of our life at all.  Who are we to assume we know enough about them to judge them?  I just don understand the need for snarky, otherwise useless comments and it bothers me that people don't have enough respect to say nothing when what they want to say will only be hurtful and basically a waste of everyone's time.  I'm not saying we shouldn't be able to criticize people, but we don't need to take things so personally either.  Don't make it your cause to leave comments on blog entries that upset you.  If you don't like something move on and save everyone some time and energy.

This probably isn't as coherent as I'd like but I think I made my point.  I hope. 

~ by Whitney on June 10, 2006.

2 Responses to “Drama, drama, drama…”

  1. I think snark and generally nasty comments are just rude. But I also think there should be room for healthy disagreement and discussion on blogs. Otherwise, it’s an endless series of “OMG YOU’RE SO BRILLIANT!” and… I don’t know. That’s kind of a waste of everyone’s time.

    I’d rather read a blog that challenges my own ideas, and in which I feel comfortable expressing myself if I disagree. That isn’t because I want to start fights or anything; it’s because I want to talk about stuff and understand where people are coming from and learn to view things from different perspectives.

    I thought that particular post was…. She sounded judgemental and superior. That bothered me, but I also didn’t leave a comment, because I could have been misreading her. The number of people who left comments, whether they are reasonable comments or not, who were hurt or angry tells me that I’m not the only one who got that vibe from the post.

    And I think that’s okay. People need to learn to express themselves better, but the disagreement was, I feel, a valid one. Does that mean I shouldn’t read Eunny’s blog? No way! I thoroughly enjoy her blog, even when I don’t necessarily agree with everything she has to say.

  2. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. šŸ™‚ Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

 
