Knitting for Star Island – Ene’s Scarf

One of my (languishing) unfinished projects is Ene's Scarf from Scarf Style. I can't even tell you how long this project has been hanging around, it's been probably about a year. It's made from Knitpicks' Alpaca Cloud in Midnight, which is pretty much impossible to photograph accurately. I was craving some lace and also just wanted to play with some alpaca (the Mata Hari scock yarn is nice, but not as nice as alpaca) so I broke it out and knit a row. Or rather, purled a row. Which reminded me of how tedious this shawl can be. I really love the pattern and yarn though, so hopefully it will get finished up some time this summer. Enough blather, onto the pictures!

Like I said, this color is impossible to photograph well, and of course unblocked lace is impossible to photograph well, so these photos aren't great. Hopefully you get the gist 🙂

The photo above shows detail a little better…The yarn is much lighter weight than the yarn called for in the pattern and I'm not really sure if it will take more or less yardage…The pattern calls for 700 yarns of Blackberry Ridge Silk Blend Lace Weight and I have 1320 yards of the Alpaca Cloud, I'm pretty sure that's more than enough but it's not the best substitution I've ever made…

I'll post more picturea of the projects I want to bring to Star Island as I gather the yarn and patterns together…

~ by Whitney on June 7, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
