The Sock Saga. Or, “My Stupid Sock”

Mata Hari Cast-On

So I’m still playing around with the photo posting…Hopefully this is ok.

I don’t know HOW many times I’ve cast on for this stupid sock. I tried several times to do an Easy Toe with birch DPNs, which just wasn’t happening. My gauge was off, size 0 birch DPNs are a little tough to maneuver gently, and in general things just weren’t going well. I decided to get a 40″ Addi Turbo to do the Magic Loop, only to discover that the local knitting store has DISAPPEARED! So I went to AC Moore, hoping they would at least have long Susan Bates circulars, or something of the sort. I ended up with 7′ Susan Bates DPNs, which are a pain in the ass to work socks on, and I still wasn’t getting gauge, so I had to rip again. I’ve realized the Easy Toe just isn’t gonna work with these long needles, so the picture to the left shows the provisional cast on for a short row toe. If this one doesn’t work out, I might just give the whole thing up, start knitting something I really want to knit and buy something else for my mom. I can’t deal with this frustrating knitting anymore. I’m gonna go get some more wine.

Oh, and I can’t get the picture right. I’ll keep working on that.

~ by Whitney on May 19, 2006.

One Response to “The Sock Saga. Or, “My Stupid Sock””

  1. Have you done a yahoo yellow pages search for any businesses with yarn or knit in their name or description? Maybe there’s a yarn store not too far from you that you didn’t know about.

Leave a Reply

 
