Yes, another rant.

This will just take me a second, and there’s knitting (an FO!) to talk about too. Feel free to skip ahead if you wish.

If you’re sticking around for the rant, go here first.

Get a good look? That’s the new dorm here at Clark University. I don’t know how much it cost to build, unfortunately, but I can tell you that to live there for a year would cost you $7,300 for a single room or $5,200 for a double (as far as I can tell, this includes winter break, but you can’t live in this dorm over the summer, so it’s really 10 months, not a year). Just to put that in perspective, I pay $2,700 a year to live in an off-campus apartment with three other people. We each have our own bedrooms and share a kitchen, living room, and bathroom, and we have a back and front porch. It’s not the nicest apartment ever, but it serves us well and is substantially cheaper than any on-campus housing.

What I can’t get over about this building is the fact that it surely cost a fortune to build, is HIDEOUS on the outside. It looks like it was built in the ’70s, even more so than any other building on campus. The next newest building, the bioscience building, is infinitely more attractive. How can the school possibly ask people to live in this building, especially when they’re charging such an exorbitant sum? Seriously, they’d have to pay ME to live there. Are all college administrations so clueless? I guess I’m just kind of over the whole school thing…I’m not really involved in anything here besides classes, I rarely even go onto campus, and I’m just done with the people running this place. I’ve had some other, more personal negative experiences with the administration (confidentiality? what?) and this new eye-sore isn’t helping.

Ok, now the good stuff! I finished my socks! Like, bound-off, ends woven in, FINISHED! Ready for gratuitous photos? Good.

Socks without feet…You can’t really tell, but the cuff is a half-twisted rib (knit stitches only). I wasn’t really sure how to finish ‘em, but I like the way the twisted rib looks and it isn’t too tight. It also doesn’t really hold the sock up well, but part of that probably has to do with the fact that this is a cotton/wool/nylon blend so it’s not exactly an elastic yarn. I don’t care, they’re done!

They’re not exactly long…I’m glad I have small feet so I got halfway decent length for the leg. I’m really aching for some knee socks though (like I have the time)

I’ve only made three pairs of socks for myself and they’ve all been toe-up, short-row heels…I’m not sure they’re the best fit for me, but I like knitting them this way. I’m sure I’ll eventually try a gusset/heel-flap type heel, but I’m not very keen on the look or the process (although I do like the eye-of-partridge heel). I would like to try a sock like Grumperina’s from last year. The colorwork is so beautiful and I think the arch-shaping would make for some very comfortable socks. Unfortunately, at the moment I don’t have the time or resources for such an undertaking. In general, I’d just like to try some colorwork, but again, I lack especially the yarn for a colorwork project and I’m on a serious budget. There’s been a lot of colorwork out there in blogland and it gets more and more tempting every time I see someone’s awesome fair isle project…There are just so many things I’d like to do with knitting; in a perfect world, I would knit and take pictures and never have to go to school again. Ah, wishful thinking…

I’ve also made it to the lace patterning on the Razor Shell Cami, and have a photo of Gilbert, but it will have to wait (hopefully not too long), since Flickr decided now would be a good time to shit the bed.  With any luck, they’ll be back soon and then I will be too, to finish this post.

~ by Whitney on February 19, 2007.

3 Responses to “Yes, another rant.”

  1. Love your socks. I think blue and brown are are great combination.

  2. I’m sorry, I just skimmed the rant, and went to the sock photos! They look wonderful! and comfy. Good weather for it, I imagine.

  3. […] Top 3 Free Virus ScannersCompudoc Computer Repair Phoenix AZ / Desktop and Laptop RepairTechVTS – Virus removal manual guide and softwaresDucktoes Computer Repair and Spyware BlogData recovery tipsOnline Issue Tracking Tool, Online Issue Management Software Systems, Online Issue Tracker.Online IssuesWindows 8 7 2008 2003 XP Vista 2000 Ms Office Tutorials How tos tips and tricksDreadFull Knitting […]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

